ARTFORUM

NEWS

November 12, 2009 at 10:14am
MARY L. NOHL FUND FELLOWSHIPS ANNOUNCED

Four recipients of the Greater Milwaukee Foundation's Mary L. Nohl Fund Fellowships for Individual Artists have been selected from a field of 116 applicants in the seventh annual competition. Peter Barrickman and Harvey Opgenorth were chosen in the established-artist category and will each receive a fifteen-thousand-dollar fellowship. Kim Miller and John Riepenhoff will receive emerging-artist fellowships of five thousand dollars each. In addition to receiving an award, the Nohl Fellows will participate in an exhibition in the autumn of 2010. An exhibition catalogue will also be published and disseminated nationally.

Finalists in the established-artist category included Paul Druecke, Richard Knight, Julie Murray, and Roy Staab. Finalists in the emerging-artist category included Mark Brautigam, Lisa Hecht, Jon Horvath, Steve Hough, Yevgeniya Kaganovich, Sarah Gail Luther, Annushka Peck, and Shane Walsh.

Funded by the Greater Milwaukee Foundation's Mary L. Nohl Fund and administered by the UWM Peck School of the Arts in collaboration with Visual Arts Milwaukee!, the Mary L. Nohl Fund Fellowships for Individual Artists provide unrestricted funds for artists to create new work or complete work in progress. The program is open to practicing artists residing in the four-county area (Milwaukee, Waukesha, Ozaukee, and Washington counties). The Mary L. Nohl Fund also supports a Suitcase Fund for exporting work by local artists beyond the four-county area. The panel of jurors included Brooklyn-based artist Jennie C. Jones; Toby Kamps, senior curator at the Contemporary Arts Museum Houston; and Barbara Wiesen, director and curator of the Gahlberg Gallery in the McAninch Arts Center at College of DuPage in Glen Ellyn, Illinois.