ARTFORUM

<u>NEWS</u>

January 19, 2016 at 5:20pm FCA ANNOUNCES GRANTS TO ARTISTS AND ROBERT RAUSCHENBERG AWARD FOR 2016

The Foundation for Contemporary Arts, a nonprofit arts organization founded in 1963 by John Cage and Jasper Johns, has announced the recipients of its annual awards. Fourteen unrestricted grants of \$40,000 each will be given to individual artists in the United States. Along with this cycle of grant awardees, Jennie C. Jones has been named winner of the fourth annual Robert Rauschenberg award. She will receive \$40,000. For more on Jones, see Andy Campbell's current <u>Critic's Pick</u> of her exhibition at the Contemporary Arts Museum Houston.

Additionally, the artist and vocalist Joan La Barbara has been awarded the \$50,000 biennial John Cage Award.

Grantees of the 2016 awards, broken up by category, are as follows:

DANCE

Nora Chipaumire, Brooklyn Yve Laris Cohen, Brooklyn Walter Dundervill, Brooklyn Sara Shelton Mann, San Francisco Melinda Ring, New York Larissa Velez-Jackson, Brooklyn

MUSIC/SOUND

Ashley Fure, Hanover, NH William Winant, Oakland, CA Nate Wooley, Brooklyn

PERFORMANCE ART/THEATER

Jack Ferver, Brooklyn David Levine, New York Tina Satter, Brooklyn

POETRY

Renee Gladman, Providence, RI

VISUAL ARTS

Barbara Bloom, New York